Dr. Christina Marchand, Project Manager Innovations Monitor and Energy Startup Day

Dr. Christina Marchand, Project Manager Innovations Monitor and Energy Startup Day

Reports of amazing innovations in the energy sector reach me on an almost daily basis. From a flying, electricity-generating drone, via new membranes in fuel cells, right through to stacked concrete blocks for the storage of electricity. These innovations are driven by committed, ambitious startup founders, setting out to advance the transformation of our energy system for a sustainable and climate-compatible world.


Dr. Walter Steinmann
Despite their good technologies, many of these startups have difficulty in finding partners and investors for the development of customer-oriented products. This is because the Swiss energy market constitutes a challenge for new providers due to its lack of liberalisation on the one hand, and its strong local players, on the other. We additionally see a failure of the market in the electricity sector in particular, since the prices of the existing, amortised power plants are very low and their expansion has resulted in an oversupply of electricity in the system at times. Viewed in purely financial terms, therefore, it is rarely worthwhile building new power plants at present.

Since we urgently need to expand the generation of renewable energies, however, it is all the more important for innovations to be promoted from all sides. In addition to clear rules set out by the politicians, this requires networking and strong partnerships with existing companies interested in driving this development forward. The biggest event in the electricity sector – the Powertage trade fair – has recognised this need. At this year’s event, around ten startups will once again have the opportunity to present themselves free of charge in the xplor startup village at the event. 

And the fair will also be featuring a further highlight: Energy Startup Day is being held at the Powertage this year. This event, which is organised by Zurich University of Applied Sciences, has been bringing energy and cleantech startups together with industry partners and investors for six years now. Last year, 200 people and 40 startups took part. This year, all the attendees will be able to visit the 40 or so startups in Hall 7 on the afternoon of 1 December 2020. The event will include poster stands, pitches and lectures. In the morning we will be organising an investor speed-dating event with selected startups. My hope is that, through these measures, we will be able to pave the way onto the market for a large number of innovations, and I am delighted to be on the jury for selecting the startups for both xplor and the Startup Day. I hope to be able to welcome as many interested parties as possible at the two events.
Startups - take your chance!

Applications are possible again until 25 January 2021.

Share

Dr. Christina Marchand, Projektleiterin Innovations Monitor und Energy Startup Day

Dr. Christina Marchand, Projektleiterin Innovations Monitor und Energy Startup Day

Fast täglich erfahre ich von erstaunlichen Erfindungen im Energiebereich. Von der fliegenden stromerzeugenden Drohne, über neue Membranen in Brennstoffzellen bis zu gestapelten Betonklötzen zur Stromspeicherung. Diese Innovationen sind getrieben von engagierten und ambitionierten Gründer*innen, die den Umbau unseres Energiesystems für eine nachhaltige und klimaverträgliche Welt voran treiben wollen.
Dr. Christina Marchand Projekctleiterin Innovations Monitor and Energy Startup Day
Aber viele dieser Startups haben trotz guter Technologien Probleme Partner und Investoren für die Entwicklung von kundenorientierten Produkten zu finden. Denn der Schweizer Energiemarkt ist einerseits durch die fehlende Liberalisierung und andererseits durch starke lokale Player eine Herausforderung für neue Anbieter. Zusätzlich sehen wir besonders im Strommarkt ein Marktversagen, da einerseits die Preise der bestehenden, abgeschriebenen Kraftwerke sehr günstig sind und ausserdem durch den Ausbau zeitweise zu viel Strom im Systems ist. Daher lohnt es sich derzeit rein finanziell selten neue Kraftwerke zu bauen.

Da wir aber dringend auf den Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien angewiesen sind, ist es in der Zwischenzeit umso wichtiger, dass Innovationen von allen Seiten gefördert werden. Neben klaren Regeln aus der Politik braucht es dafür unter anderem Vernetzung und starke Partnerschaften mit bestehenden Firmen, die die Entwicklung vorantreiben wollen. Die grösste Veranstaltung der Strombranche, die Powertage, hat diese Notwendigkeit erkannt. Auch dieses Mal erhalten rund 10 Startups gratis die Möglichkeit sich im Startup-Space xplor an der Messe zu präsentieren.

Es gibt aber noch ein weiteres Highlight: Der Energy Startup Day findet dieses Jahr an den Powertagen statt. Der von der ZHAW organisierte Anlass bringt seit sechs Jahren Startups im Energie und Cleantech Bereich mit Branchen-Partnern und Investoren zusammen, im letzten Jahr nahmen 200 Personen und 40 Startups teil. Dieses Jahr am 1. Dezember 2020 können alle Besucher die rund 40 Startups am Nachmittag in Halle 7 besuchen. Dort gibt es Poster-Stände, Pitches und Vorträge. Am Vormittag organisieren wir mit ausgesuchten Startups ein Investor-Speed Dating Event. Ich hoffe, dass wir mit diesen Massnahmen vielen Innovationen den Weg in den Markt ebnen und freue mich sehr, dass ich Teil der Jury für die Auswahl der Startups, sowohl für XPLOR, wie auch für den Startup Day bin. Ich hoffe, möglichst viele Interessierte an den beiden Anlässen zu begrüssen.

Kontakt

Öffnungszeiten

Ticket

Aussteller

Programm

Partner

Teilen